Search GoXtra News

Editor's Choice

OPINION: Corruption’s Chokehold: Rebuilding South Africa’s Stolen Dreams

As we stand on the precipice of a daunting future, the United Democratic Movement (UDM) mourns the tragic collapse of the South African stat...

Sunday, February 22, 2015

2015 Royalty Soapie Awards Nominees revealed 7de Laan, Isibaya and Scandal lead!

The nominees of the 2015 Royalty Soapie Awards were revealed at a glittering ceremony in Johannesburg on Thursday19 February.
The top two soapies in the running are Isibaya and Scandal with 16 nominations each while 7de Laan is a close third with 14 nominations.

In a new development this year a two-step process comprising a peer review and a popular vote element will apply in the performance categories.

A judging panel made of experts in the television industry has first adjudicated all entries to come up with a list of finalists in all categories.

Fans will then have a say in determining the final winners from the lists of nominees in seven pre-judged categories, whilst only the judges will choose the winners in a further seven categories.

The categories open to public voting are:
Outstanding Lead Actor,
Outstanding Lead Actress,
Outstanding Male Villain,
Outstanding Female Villain,
Outstanding Supporting Actor,
Outstanding Supporting Actress, and
Outstanding Newcomer.

The nominee in each category with the highest number of votes will be the ultimate winner.

The 15th award, the Most Popular Soapie, is decided entirely by public vote with all soapies broadcast in South Africa eligible for consideration.

In addition The RSA Committee will also present a Lifetime Achievement Award at the awards ceremony on Saturday, 28 March at the Durban International Convention Centre (Durban, ICC).
“The Royalty Soapie Awards hold a mirror to the industry, revealing the status of the sector on screen and behind the scenes, and they provide much to reflect upon,” said project director Sindile Xulu.
“The Royalty Soapie Awards are built on a solid peer review mechanism and we will always work hard with the industry to optimise the judging process.

“Consumer opinion is also vital. Viewers are the life-blood of the industry – dedicating hours watching their beloved shows.

“Through our improved system we believe we have the best of both worlds. The final outcomes will reflect industry sentiment and benefit all by encouraging healthy competition and ultimately assisting in growing the quality of our productions.”

Voting will be done by SMS from 19 February to 20 March and details can be found on the website, Facebook and twitter. A substantial campaign will run on various media platforms.

The nominees for the 2015 Royalty Soapie Awards are:

Outstanding Lead Actor
Motlatsi Mafatshe as Sechaba for Isidingo
Siyabonga Thwala as Mpiyakhe Zungu for Isibaya
Theodore Jantjies as Xander Meintjies for 7de Laan
Vusi Kunene as Jefferson Sibeko for Isidingo
Zane Meas as Neville Meintjies for 7de Laan

Outstanding Lead Actress
Kgomotso Christopher as Katlego for Isidingo
Marjorie Langa as Gloria Rangaka for Scandal
Masasa Mbangeni as Thembeka Shezi for Scandal
Thembi Nyandeni as Mkabayi Zungu for Isibaya
Vinette Ebrahim as Charmaine Meintjies for 7de Laan

Outstanding Male Villain
André Lötter as Liamle Roux for Villa Rosa
Robert Whitehead as Barker Haines for Isidingo
Sello Maake Ka-Ncube as Lucas Nyathi for Scandal
Vusi Kunene as Bhekifa for Isibaya
Wilhelm van der Walt as Tyrone (TY) for 7de Laan

Outstanding Female Villain
Dawn Matthews as Shakira Willemse for Scandal
Jo da Silva as Gita McGregor for 7de Laan
Mampho Brescia as Iris for Isibaya
Therese Benadé as Astrid Wentzel for Villa Rosa

Outstanding Supporting Actor
Andile Sithole as Ndumiso Ngcobo for Scandal
Bongani Gumede as Mandla Ndlovu for Isibaya
Jody Abrahams as Marcel Beauchamp for Scandal
Kaz McFadden as Dewald for 7de Laan
Zakhele Mabasa as S’khaleni for Isibaya

Outstanding Supporting Actress
Dorette Potgieter as Wanda for Villa Rosa
Mampho Brescia as Iris for Isibaya
Mapaseka Koetle as Dintle Setuke for Scandal
Natasha Sutherland as Layla Mckenzie for Scandal
Nomzamo Mbatha as Thandeka for Isibaya

Outstanding Newcomer
Andile Gumbi as Zweli for Isibaya
Buhle Samuels as Matshidiso for Muvhango
Fulu Mugovhani as Anzani Muneri for Scandal
Izak Davel as Bradley for Isidingo
Tessa Holloway as Sonja for 7de Laan

Most Popular Soapie
7de Laan
Rhythm City
Villa Rosa

Outstanding Soapie
7de Laan                                          
Villa Rosa                                        
Outstanding Set Design
7de Laan                              

Outstanding Writing Team
7de Laan                

Outstanding Wardrobe
7de Laan

Outstanding Directing Team
7de Laan

Outstanding Editing Team
7de Laan

Outstanding Lighting
7de Laan

Certificates will be awarded in the following categories and the nominees are:

Outstanding Couple
Celeste Ntuli & Ayanda Borotho for Isibaya
Jessica Nkosi & Andile Mxakaza for Isibaya
Outstanding Make-up & Hair
Amy Sprawson for Isidingo
Sheila Petlele for Isibaya

Outstanding Art Direction
Rohan Horn for 7de Laan
Dylan Lloyd for Isibaya

Outstanding Casting Director
Angus Gibson for Isibaya
Kutlwano Ditsele for Isibaya

Outstanding Audio
Joel Kapend, Mark Phillips for Isibaya
& Vaughn Phillips                     

GoXtra News - Catch us on Facebook | Tweet us Twitter | See our Live Interviews  GoTv Channel

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Twitter Bird Gadget