Search GoXtra News

Editor's Choice

OPINION: Corruption’s Chokehold: Rebuilding South Africa’s Stolen Dreams

As we stand on the precipice of a daunting future, the United Democratic Movement (UDM) mourns the tragic collapse of the South African stat...

Sunday, May 27, 2018

SAMA 24 Record of the Year Award’s two horse race

The horses have bolted for the final stretch of the SAMA 24 Record of the Year Award. After weeks of campaigning and a hard fought public vote for the top 20 semi-finalists, the fans have spoken and the top 10 finalists are here.
AKA has kept up the momentum with two berths in the final line up, thanks to his hit songs The World Is Yours and Don’t Forget To Pray and Anatii. Tied with him in the top spot is Kwesta with anthems Spirit and Ngiyaz’fela Ngawe featuring Thabsie. Lady Zamar flies the dance flag with My Baby as well as DJ Kent with Love You Still and Heavy K with Inde. Also in the running are the likes of Distruction Boyz with Omunye, I Do by LaSauce featuring Amanda, Suited by Shekhinah.

The list was announced on SABC1 music show Live Amp on Friday night. Enthused RiSA CEO Nhlanhla Sibisi: ‘It has been a tight race and we congratulate those who emerged victorious. The stage is set for the ultimate Record of the Year winner. Best wishes to all.’
MEC for the North West Department of Culture, Arts and Traditional Affairs (CATA) Mme O.R Mochware congratulated the finalists: ‘As we do the countdown to SAMA24 things get heated up. Now from boys to men, the nominations of the top 10 bring us closer and closer to  2 June 2018. Your nomination is indicative of your hard work and I want to wish you the best of luck.’
Following the revelation, fans are encouraged to vote further to ensure that their favourite songs stay till the end and eventually scoop the trophy on the big night.
Voting by USSD line is open until next month. To vote you send the number of the artist, for example *120*2003*01# USSD charged at R1.50 per minute, free minutes do not apply.
Complete list of Top 10 SAMA 24 Record of the Year finalists and the voting codes
Don’t Forget To Pray – AKA and Anatii
I Do – LaSauce featuring Amanda
Inde – Heavy K
Love You Still – DJ Kent
My Baby – Lady Zamar
Ngiyaz’fela Ngawe – Kwesta featuring Thabsie
Omunye – Distruction Boyz
Spirit – Kwesta
Suited – Shekhinah
The World Is Yours – AKA

The SAMA24 award ceremony is on 2 June 2018 and will be broadcast live from Sun City, North West on SABC1 at 8pm.
Tickets are on sale at Ticketpro at R395.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Twitter Bird Gadget