Search GoXtra News

Editor's Choice

OPINION: Corruption’s Chokehold: Rebuilding South Africa’s Stolen Dreams

As we stand on the precipice of a daunting future, the United Democratic Movement (UDM) mourns the tragic collapse of the South African stat...

Friday, March 22, 2013

The Miser is the big winner at The 10th Annual Naledi Theatre Awards

Jonathan Roxmouth and Atandwa Kani

It was an exciting evening of glitz and glamour at the prestigious Lyric Theatre at Gold Reef City on March 18 as the South African theatre industry gathered to celebrate and applaud their peers and icons at the 10th Annual Naledi Theatre Awards supported by Auto & General Insurance.

Silvaine Strike's The Miser, about the madness of a father’s greed, paranoia and suspicion, walked off with four Naledis; Best Production of a Play, Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role for Patricia Boyer; Best Costume Design for Sarah Roberts and Best Director for Sylvaine Strike.

Andrew Lloyd Webber's famous musical The Phantom of the Opera won three awards: Best Production of a Musical (Pieter Toerien Productions), Best Musical Director / Score / Arrangement for Louis Zurnamer , currently with Phantom in Korea, and Best Performance in a Musical (Male) which went to multi talented Jonathan Roxmouth.

Samantha Peo won best performance in a Musical for her poignant portrayal of Sally Bowles in Kickstart’s production of Cabaret.

The Market theatre production of Delirium, written by Ariel Dorfman and directed by Greg Homann, won two Naledis: Best Cutting Edge/Ensemble, and Best Theatre Set Design for Denis Hutchinson

The daring historical epic Abnormal Loads also won two awards: Best Theatre Lighting Design for Tina Le Roux and Best New SA script.

Best performance by an Actor in a Leading role went to Michael Richard for his riveting performance in Kickstart’s production of Red, and his son, Jeremy won best supporting actor for the same play.

Best Newcomer/Breakthrough went to son of theatre icon John Kani, Atandwa Kani for the State Theatre’s production of Rhetorical.

The life time achievement award went to South Africa's first lady of song, multiple award-winning Sibongile Khumalo, whose many contributions to the theatre includes the title role in Mzilikazi Khumalo’s illustrious musical Princess Magogo ka Dinuzulu, as well as the Award winning production of “Songs of Migration”.

Chairman of Naledi’s, Dali Tambo said that Ms Khumalo was an inspiration to all who witnessed her performances; her talents span across acting, opera, jazz , teaching and above all she is a strong activist for the advancement of theatre of all genres in SA.

The coveted Executive director's award for producers and individuals who have made a significant contribution to the advancement and development of SA Live Theatre through their vision and commitment went to Yvette Hardy, managing director of Assitej SA,the International Association of Theatre for Children and Young People.

Executive Director, Dawn Lindberg said that Assitej SA raised the standard of Theatre for Children and built new audiences and theatre makers of the future. She also thanked the sponsors over the past 10 years who have supported the Naledi’s including Wharfedale Pro, Chauvet Lighting, and Distell and in particular, Auto & General Insurance who have chosen to support the Naledi theatre Awards for 3 years.

The Naledi Theatre Awards ceremony was staged and Directed By Dawn Lindberg and the Master of Ceremonies was comedian Alan Committie.The star line-up of presenters included well-known celebrities including 94.7DJ, Anele Mdoda, Arts Angel, Carolyn Steyn, jazz diva Gloria Bosman, Isidingo stars Kgomotso Christopher and Vusi Kunene, performance poet,Lebo Mashile, star of Oscar winning movie Tsotsi, Presley Chweneyagae, Young Artist winner, Prince Lamla, and Gugu and Welcome Msomi.

Guests enjoyed a scintillating line-up of entertainment from some of the best performers in the country: Cabaret, performed by award winning artist Samantha Peo and accompanied by Evan Roberts. Jonathan Roxmouth also a winner, teamed up with Ian Von Memerty for Music of the Night from Phantom, and History of the Broadway Musical: A Handful of Keys.
Tamara Dey of Flash Republic sang a song specially written for the occasion and to mark her first public performance after major surgery to remove nodules from her vocal chords.

The Leonard Cohen classic Hallelujah was movingly sung a’capella by Naami Gottlieb Liebermann. Sharon Spiegel-Wagner and Sivan Raphaely , “from the Mouths of Babes” to highlight the tributes to those who passed away during 2012. Modern Major General from the Pirates of Penzance had the audience chuckling as David Dennis, Michael Richard, Jonathan Taylor, Clinton Hawks, Keaton Ditchfield and Kevin Kraak took to the stage. Michael De Pinna sang Feeling Good, which was arranged by Johan Laas.

To open the show, dancers from the National School of the Arts Festival of Fame, performed Pictures of Africa. Choreographed by Lauren Jones to music by Dead can Dance, it featured N Bekwa, C Du Preez, L Ferreira, K Mokhosi, K Nche, L Phale, C Schafer, E Stevens, J Stroud, and Y Thomas as birds; K Devar, L Mzimaze, I Poggenpoel, C Rau, C Roebeck, and R van den Aardweg as buck; K Gwangwa, T Mdluli, S Ngoma, M Renecase, and S Stewart as zebra; and S Blaauw, L Botha, T Tshephe, and T Turner as rhino.

Judges for 2012 were: Renos Spanoudes, Welcome Msomi, Helen Heldenmuth, Lance Maron, Lali Dangalese, Mandla Motau, Peter Feldman, Rudi Sadler, Carolyn Steyn, Dorianne Alexander and Ferosa Marais.

The full list of winners:

Life time achievement award :
Sibongile Khumalo

Executive director's award:
Yvette Hardy, MD of Assitej SA

Best Theatre Set Design
Denis Hutchinson - Delirium

Best Costume Design
Sarah Roberts - The Miser

Best Theatre Lighting Design
Tina Le Roux - Abnormal Loads

Best Theatre Sound Design / Sound Effects
Braam du Toit - Trilogy: Lot/Betésda/Babbel

Best Production of Children Theatre
Goggas! - National Children Theatre

Best Performance by Newcomer / Breakthrough (Male/Female)
Atandwa Kani - Rhetorical

Best Community Theatre
Sello Le Dipogiso - Black Child Productions directed by Thembeni Joni

Best Original Choreography (Musical or Play)
Loukmaan Adams & Jodi Abrahams –The Kat and the Kings

Best Musical Director / Score / Arrangement
Louis Zurnamer (MD) - Phantom of the Opera

Best Ensemble Production/Cutting Edge
Delirium – written by Ariel Dorfman. Produced by The Market Theatre. Directed by Greg Homann

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role / Cameo

Patricia Boyer - The Miser

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role / Cameo
Jeremy Richard - Red

Best Director of a Play or Musical
Sylvaine Strike - The Miser

Best Performance in a Musical (Female)
Samantha Peo - Cabaret

Best Performance in a Musical (Male)
Jonathan Roxmouth - The Phantom of the Opera

Best Production of Play

The Miser - produced by Fortune Cookie Theatre Company & Market Theatre, directed by Sylvaine Strike

Best Performance by an Actress in a Lead Role (Play)
Khutjo Green - The Line

Best Performance by an Actor in a Lead Role (Play)
Michael Richard - Red

Best New South African Script
Abnormal Loads - produced by the Market Theatre in ass with Standard Bank and Think Theatre, written by Neil Coppen, directed by Neil Coppen and Janna Ramos-Violante

Best Production of Musical
The Phantom of the Opera - produced by Pieter Toerien and The Really Useful Group Limited. directed by Harold Prince.

Issued by 

Christabel Zulu/ Bridget van Oerle

GoXtra News - Facebook | Twitter | GoTv Channel

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Twitter Bird Gadget