Search GoXtra News

Editor's Choice

OPINION: Corruption’s Chokehold: Rebuilding South Africa’s Stolen Dreams

As we stand on the precipice of a daunting future, the United Democratic Movement (UDM) mourns the tragic collapse of the South African stat...

Friday, February 8, 2013

Lara Bye to direct the prestigious 48th annual Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards

Award winning theatre director Lara Bye, assisted by theatre maker Thando Doni, will direct the prestigious 48th annual Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards, taking place at the Artscape Theatre in Cape Town, on Sunday 17th March 2013. The Awards are funded by the Distell Foundation and are an important acknowledgement of South African theatrical excellence, specifically focusing on professional theatre productions staged in the Cape Town Metropole and surrounds, over a period of one calendar year.

This year the event will take on a classical theme, showcasing talented artists from Cape Town Opera’s Voice of the Nation Ensemble, the Cape Philharmonic Youth Orchestra, the South African Mzansi Ballet Company, iKapa Dance Theatre and Dance for All. These are all companies and organisations that Distell has funded in the past year. “Distell’s commitment to the development of the arts bears testimony to our involvement in the communities where we operate, because it is the arts and in particular theatre productions, that are fundamental to our existence and draw out the province’s soul for all to see. It is also through such events that scripts are brought to life and artists can bring out the distinctiveness of our vibrant population,” says Irma Albers, Distell’s Art and Culture Controller.

Alan Committie, one of the country’s most sought after comedians will co-host the event with Africa Melane, a well-known Cape Talk presenter and a Fleur du Cap panel judge since 2011. 

There are 21 categories for drama, musicals and comedy productions and at this year's ceremony, several past winners will present the awards that carry a R15 000 cash prize as well as a beautiful silver medallion. The  nominees list will be released to the public and Media on 19 February 2013 and the winners announced at the star-studded gala event.  Africa Melane, Beverley Brommert, Coreen Lloyd, Denise Bester, Dr. Gabriel Botma, Gillian Mitchell, Herman van der Westhuizen, Jill Makram, Len Ashton, Mariana Malan, Marina Griebenow, Peter Tromp, Rone Arendse and Wayne Muller make up the Panel that saw approximately 69 productions during 2012.

A limited number of tickets to the gala event will be available to the public at R150 via Computicket or (021) 421 7695. The ticket price includes complimentary Fleur du Cap wines and canapés.

Those wishing to vote for the People’s Choice Award should SMS FDC to 33783, or vote on the Fleur du Cap Facebook page. Each SMS costs R1,50 (none are free) and T’s & C’s apply. Voting closes on 9 March 2013 and the winner of the People’s Choice will be announced at the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards gala evening, widely regarded as the country’s premier event of its kind and high on the City’s social calendar.

Issued by Allison Foat @ Diva PR

GoXtra News - Facebook | Twitter | GoTv Channel

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Twitter Bird Gadget