Search GoXtra News

Editor's Choice

OPINION: Corruption’s Chokehold: Rebuilding South Africa’s Stolen Dreams

As we stand on the precipice of a daunting future, the United Democratic Movement (UDM) mourns the tragic collapse of the South African stat...

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

SA’s top comedians celebrated at The 3rd Annual South African Comic’s Choice Awards™!

In association with The Times, Mzansi Magic and Kaya FM!
Paparazzi and film crews flooded the yellow carpet at The 3rd Annual Comic’s Choice Awards™ (CCA) at the Teatro at Montecasino on Saturday 24 August.

As South Africa’s comedy industry came out to recognise and award some of its own, excitement for the evening’s gala event was contagious as everyone waited in anticipation to see who’d walk away with one of the six coveted Waldo’s.

Far from a standard award ceremony, the variety show kicked off with an eruption of applause as Parkour free-runners abseiled from the roof to the sound of live gunfire.  Audiences were treated to unbelievable production design and celebrity guest appearances from the likes of Jahmil Qubeka, Joe Mafela and Anele Ndoda.

Winners performed seven minutes of stand-up as their “acceptance speech” and their pride (and tears of joy and laughter) were felt by all those lucky enough to have attended the comedy industry’s crowning event.  

Comedians vote for their peers to win the Waldo’s, with only one award, the Savanna Audience Choice Award, being open to public vote; and multi-award winning Sifiso Nene took home this year’s coveted Waldo for the second year running.

Pioneering comic Kagiso Lediga won the respect of his peers for his sharp-witted content creation and was awarded The Times Comic’s Pen Award; a well-deserved accolade for one of SA’s most venerable comedians. Mpho Popps Modikoane’s youthful talent and charming comedic disposition were recognized by the industry as he was awarded the BlackBerry Breakthrough Act Award.   
At Soweto’s Savanna Newcomer’s Showcase in June, crowds gave Schalk Bezuidenhout a standing ovation, so it was no surprise that this mustachioed comic with his trademark ironic jersey and ankle-length trousers would be voted for by industry to win the Waldo in the Savanna Newcomer Award category.  
Trevor Noah was awarded The Comic’s Choice Comic of the Year Award once again but was unable to attend due to health reasons, while legendary ‘Cousin’ Barry Hilton was the well-deserving recipient of The Lifetime Achievement Award.  
This year’s theme, “The Art Of Funny” centered on self-expression and social justice, so whilst audiences laughed at the collaborative sketches, there was an underlying message of how comedians, much like graffiti artists and free-runners have the ability to reshape reality, drive a revolution and change the world.  The opening message of the awards encapsulated that ethos - “A free runner is a human soul that refuses to see walls. They use barriers created by authorities as canvases on which to celebrate freedom and rebellion… So do stand-up comics.”

Pulling out all the stops to deliver the best event yet, the CCA team produced a magnificent show with a seamless production and deserves to be applauded for their tireless efforts to showcase and celebrate South Africa’s finest.  Of course all this wouldn’t be possible without the support of the sponsors and media partners, so hats off to The Times, Savanna, BlackBerry.

Event Information:
Event Info:
@ComicsChoice: #CCA2013

Media Release GoXtra News - Facebook | Twitter | GoTv Channel

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Twitter Bird Gadget